How healthy is your gut?

I’m always amazed when I talk to people about their health and hear the resounding story of how they have had “elimination issues” for years. I honestly hear this more often than I care to say.  Some tell me of conversations with their doctors regarding these issues and I’ve heard more than a dozen times they are told it’s ok if it isn’t a daily occurrence,  just as long as it’s once or twice a week.  I don’t understand this!  How can this logically be ok?  Just think about how your body processes food and what it does with waste.  It has to go somewhere!  And if it doesn’t go out then that means it’s staying in!  We have a great increase in colon cancers, polyps, colitis, crohn’s disease, etc. because people aren’t taking care of their gut, aren’t eating the right foods to create health and balance, which in turns supresses their immune system.  Keep in mind that roughly 70% of your immune system is in your gut, so if your gut is full of bacteria and waste, how healthy do you really think you are?  It is so very important to feed your body properly, to learn what foods best nourish YOU, to understand the many cues your body gives you, to be able to create optimal healthDon’t wait until it’s to late to make a change.  I promise you that your cokes, candy, sugars, hot dogs, etc. aren’t worth the pain of a dis-ease that could’ve been prevented from eating foods that benefit and heal.  It’s not necessarily about eating salads every day with broccoli and grilled chicken.  Universally, I get this answer when I ask people what they think they should be eating every day.  Well, our society has a long way to go if this is their understanding but I will continue to say as I have for years, “It’s all about eating for your body and your body is like none other!!! Eat according to your metabolic type as a foundation and go from there.  Drink half your body weight in water, consume antibiotic free/organic meats minimally, organic poultry when possible, wild seafood, and LOTS of organic and/or local veggies.  Start slow but keep taking steps forward to create a better internal environment which in turn creates a stronger external environment, even choice matters!  Listen….Your body is speaking to you now.  What is it saying?

In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.

Transformational Health

Facebook

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. best dog food for a puppy
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 21:57:52

    I like the valuable info you supply to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently. I am slightly sure I’ll be told a lot of new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the following!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Second Highest in Childhood Obesity « Transformational Health
  3. Trackback: Are you angry? « Transformational Health

Share your thoughts!